; Whats on in Sydney and Melbourne at MiSociety Australia Ensemble @ UNSW Subscription concert 6: 22 October 2011 - Whats on in Sydney and Melbourne at MiSociety content="String_we_ask_for">

Australia Ensemble @ UNSW Subscription concert 6: 22 October 2011

October 22, 2011



  • Saturday 22 October 2011 at 8pm
  • Tickets Adult $45, Senior $32, Concession $23, Student rush $16
  • WIN TICKETS – email MiSociety with ENSEMBLE in subject line

Wolfgang MOZART (1756-1791): Quintet for piano and wind (oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn) in E flat K452 (1784)
Joaquín RODRIGO (1901-1999): Serenata al alba del dia for flute and guitar
Heitor VILLA-LOBOS (1887-1959): Distribuição de flores for flute and guitar
Mario CASTELNUOVO-TEDESCO (1895-1968): Quintet for guitar and two violins, viola and cello Opus 143 (1950)
Paul HINDEMITH (1895-1963): Kleine Kammermusik (Little Chamber Music Suite) Opus 24/2 for flute, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon (1923)
Matthew HINDSON (b 1968): Rush for guitar and string quartet (1999)
Guest artist: Slava Grigoryan, guitar

Good humour, liveliness and pictorial fancy predominate in this program, though Mozart’s Quintet for piano and wind instruments K452, which the composer once rated as the best work he had written, inevitably includes some moments that can seem almost startling in their lyrical beauty and gravity. The guitar of the Australian virtuoso Slava Grigoryan combines with Geoffrey Collins’s flute in elegantly evocative music from the Spaniard Joaquín Rodrigo (he of the famous Aranjuez concerto) and the Brazilian Heitor Villa-Lobos and with the Ensemble’s strings in the more extended paragraphs of Castelnuovo-Tedesco’s Quintet and the harum-scarum energy of Matthew Hindson’s Rush. Hindemith communicates his own end-of-season surprises with a mischievous sense of fun in his Little Chamber Music Suite (Kleine Kammermusik) for wind quintet.

Sir John Clancy Auditorium UNSW
www.ae.unsw.edu.au Ph: 9385 4874; email: australia.ensemble@unsw.edu.au


Comments are closed.