Australian Geographic Society Awards 2013 Presentations Gala Ivy Ballroom Sydney

October 24th, 2013



Sydney  22 October 2013
Australian Geographic Society Awards 2013 Gala Ivy Ballroom Sydney story photos images:  MiSociety

Australia’s Got Real Talent With Home Grown Conservationists and Adventurers
Australian Geographic Society Annual Awards are given to those Australians that have excelled in conservation and adventure.  The Awards have morphed from humble beginnings to the 2013 occasion in the Grand Ball Room of the Ivy Hotel Sydney where award recipients were honoured in true ‘Gala’ style.  The AGS Awards are made possible by the support of many generous sponsors and MiSociety is proud to have been associated with the AG Society Awards since 2008 with the opportunity to meet so many Australians of whom we can all be so proud.

Dr Karl Kruszelnicki (of course) did a marvelous job as the Master of Ceremony with Adventurer of the Year, Tim Jarvis, taking us on a journey of discovery as he related the tale of how he and his crew of five British and Australian adventurers became the first to authentically re-enact Sir Ernest Shackleton’s perilous voyage from Elephant Island to South Georgia and the dangerous crossing of its mountainous interior. 

Colin Putt, winner of the Lifetime of Adventure Award 2013 gave us the quote of the night when he said “People ask me why I went on so many challenging expeditions and I reply no, it’s not because they were there, but simply because people kept inviting me”.

Australian Geographic Society is a not-for-profit organisation formed in 1987 by Dick Smith and dedicated to supporting scientific research, protecting and fostering a love for our environmental and natural heritage, encouraging the spirit of discovery and spreading the knowledge of Australia to Australians and the world.

Australian Geographic Society Award Winners 2013
Young Conservationist of the Year 2013 Linh Do
Young Adventurer of the Year 2013
Ryan Campbell
Conservationist of the Year 2013
Jim and Jean Thomas
Lifetime of Conservation 2013
Ian Kiernan AO and Kim McKay AO
Adventurer of the Year 2013
Tim Jarvis AM
Lifetime of Adventure 2013
Colin Putt

 Red Carpet photos, VIP photos and social photos; all photographic images are ©copyright MiSociety 2013 and may not be reproduced without permission – We only publish a selection from the many we have from each event. How to purchase high resolution photos


Comments are closed.