; Whats on in Sydney and Melbourne at MiSociety Deadly Awards 2012 Nominations List content="String_we_ask_for">

Deadly Awards 2012 Nominations List


Deadly Awards recognise the contribution of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders to their community and to Australian society.

Deadlys 2012 Voting closes on 9 September 2012
Deadly Awards 2012 Launch SBS Studios photos and story

Deadly Awards 2012  Nominations list

Most Promising New Talent in Sport*
Damien Duncan Hooper (Boxing) – QLD
Clay Waterman (Boxing) – QLD
Paige James (Rhythmic Gymnastics) – WA
Jermaine Miller-Lewis (AFL) – WA
James Brown (Soccer) – NSW

Male Sportsperson of the Year
Daniel Geale (Boxing) – TAS
Benn Harradine (Discus) – NSW
Kurtley Beale (RugbyUnion) – NSW
Patrick Mills (Basketball) – ACT
Des Abbott (Hockey) – NT

Female Sportsperson of the Year
Bo de la Cruz (Rugby) – NT
Stacey Porter (Softball) – NSW
Meghan Rutledge (Motocross) – NSW
Ashleigh Barty (Tennis) – QLD
Kyah Simon (Soccer) – NSW

Outstanding Achievement in AFL
Lewis Jetta (Sydney) – WA
Lance Franklin (Hawthorn) – WA
Eddie Betts (Carlton) – WA
Paddy Ryder (Essendon) – WA
Cyrol Rioli (Hawthorn) – NT

Outstanding Achievement in NRL
Johnathan Thurston (NorthQueensland) – QLD
Ben Barba (Canterbury) – NT
Greg Inglis (South Sydney) – NSW
Sam Thaiday (Brisbane) – QLD
Greg Bird (Gold Coast) – NSW

Male Actor of the Year
Aaron Fa’aoso (The Straits) – QLD
Jimi Bani (Mabo) – WA
Meyne Wyatt (Buried City) – WA
Charles Passi (Mabo) -Torres Strait
Leon Burchill (The Krakouer) – QLD

Female Actor of the Year
Christine Anu (Outland) – QLD
Rarriwuy Hick (Bloodlands) – NSW
Sandy Greenwood (Killer Elite) – NSW
Deborah Mailman (Mabo) – QLD
Ursula Yovich (Bloodlands) – NT

Dancer of the Year*
Tamara Pearson – QLD
Darren Compton – NSW
Janet Munyarryun – NT
Ghenoa Gela – QLD
Daniel Riley McKinley – NSW

Visual Artist of the Year*
VernonAh Kee – QLD
Merv Bishop – NSW
Richard Bell – QLD
Brook Andrew – NSW
Brenda Croft – WA

Film of the Year
Freedom Rides 40 Years On
The Tall Man

Television Show of the Year
Move It Mob Style (ABC & NITV)
Living Black (SBS)
Barefoot Sports (NITV)
Yamba’s Playtime (Imparja)
The Straits (ABC)

Outstanding Achievement in Literature*
Ali Cobby Eckermann (Ruby Moonlight) – SA
Dub Leffler (Once There Was A Boy) – NSW
Chaise Eade (Second Life) – VIC
Sue McPherson (Grace Beside Me) – NSW
Professor John Maynard (The
Aboriginal Soccer Tribe) – NSW

Most Promising New Talent in Music*
Thelma Plum – QLD
Marcus Corowa – Torres Straits
Caper – SA
Dewayne Everettsmith – TAS
Jacinta Price – NT

Male Artist of the Year
Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu – NT
Frank Yamma -NT
Troy Cassar-Daley – NSW
John Bennett – WA
Dave Arden – VIC

Female Artist of the Year
Jessica Mauboy – NT
Jess Beck – NSW
Christine Anu -Torres Strait
Casey Donovan – NSW
Emma Donovan – NSW

Hip Hop Artist of the Year
Briggs – VIC
Yung Warriors – VIC
Sky’ High (Skhai Gerrey) – NSW
Knowledge Bones – WA |Maupower -Torres Strait

Single of the Year
Yabu Band (Petrol, Paint and Glue) – WA
Troy Cassar-Daley (Country Is) – NSW
Yung Warriors (Standing Strong) – VIC
Busby Marou (I Still Don’t Believe) – QLD
Jessica Mauboy (Galaxy) – NT

Album of the Year
Christine Anu (Rewind) – QLD
Troy Cassar Daley (Home) – NSW
The Medics (Foundations) – QLD
The Last Kinection (Next of Kin) – NSW
Warren H Williams (Urna Marra) – NT

Band of the Year
B2M -TiwiIslands
Yabu Band – WA
The Medics – QLD
Zennith Boyz – QLD
The Last Kinection – NSW

Aboriginal Health Worker of the Year
Craig Bloxsome – TAS
Brian Doyle – NSW
Karoline Traill – TAS
John Corowa – QLD
Dale Wright-Dennis – NSW

Outstanding Achievement in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Health*
Gandangara Health Services Limited – NSW
Aboriginal Oral Health Clinic – NSW
Itha Mari Health and Healing Group – NSW
Boodjarra Yorgas Family Care Program – WA
Yamba’s Roadshow – NT

Outstanding Achievement in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Education*
Link Up QLD Aboriginal Corporation and
Associate Professor Norman Sheehan – SA
Mumgu-Dhal Tyama-Tiyt Program – VIC
UniversityofMelbourne– Big
Dreaming, No Shame – VIC
Napranum Parents and Learning
Group (PAL) – QLD
Australian Electoral Commission (AEC)

Outstanding Achievement in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Employment*
Aboriginal Employment Strategy – NSW
Gavin Lester – Boomerang
Constructions – NSW
Trainees in the SWSLHD Aboriginal
Traineeship Program – NSW
Warrigal Employment – NSW
Ronnie Bosuen – WA

Broadcaster of the Year*
Kevin Ebsworth Top End Aboriginal
Broadcasting Association – NT
Brooke Boney Koori Radio – NSW
Indigenous Hours Evelyn
LowahCairnsFM – QLD
NITV News Natalie Ahmat – NSW
Damien Hampton Umeewarra Media – SA

Outstanding Achievement in Cultural Advancement*
Phil Ah Wang -Torres StraitIslands
The National Centre of Indigenous Excellence – NSW
TjanpiDesertWeavers – NPY
Women’s Council – NT
Shaun Edwards – QLD
Djon Mundine AOM – NSW

Outstanding Contribution to the Stolen Generations*
Christine Jacques-Doolan – SA
‘Stolen’ – Link UpQueenslandand Aboriginal
Centre for the Performing Arts (ACPA) – QLD
Heather Kemarre Shearer – NT/SA
AbSec – NSW
Joanne Taylor – VIC Hall of Fame

Deadlys Hall of Fame
Lifetime Contribution to the Stolen Generations
Marcia Langton Award for Lifetime Achievement in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Leadership
The Ella Award for Lifetime Achievement in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Sport
The Jimmy Little Award for Lifetime Achievement to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Music

* These awards are judged by the DeadlyExecutiveAcademyand also open to popular vote.

Deadly Awards further information


Comments are closed.