; Whats on in Sydney and Melbourne at MiSociety Opera Australia 2010 - Whats on in Sydney and Melbourne at MiSociety content="String_we_ask_for">

Opera Australia 2010

September 15, 2009toSeptember 2, 2010


Opera Australia 2010
Australia’s national opera company presents the world première of a new Australian opera, as part of its 2010 Season. 

Photos and story from Opera Australia 2010 Launch 

 Brett Dean and Amanda Holden’s Bliss plays in Sydney and Melbourne alongside five other new productions in a season featuring an impressive line-up of international and Australian artists. Adrian Collette, Chief Executive of Opera Australia, commented: “In 2010 we present thirteen productions which will entertain and delight, intrigue and challenge you.

The season makes full use of the wonderful breadth of Australian talent amongst our ensemble, while also introducing international singers and creative teams of the highest calibre.  “There are six new productions including the Company’s first ever La sonnambula and the Sydney première  of A Little Night Music.

This year we also meet several directors making their company debut: Christopher
Alden directs Tosca, Benedict Andrews explores The Marriage of Figaro and Nigel Jamieson directs Puccini’s The Girl of the Golden West. Finally we are thrilled to present the world première of Brett Dean and Amanda Holden’s new opera, Bliss, based on the novel by Peter Carey. Bliss defines the enterprise of this company. We are committed to creating an Australian operatic repertoire which occupies a vital place in the company’s overall program.”

The 2010 Season includes:
? World première of Brett Dean and Amanda Holden’s Bliss, based on Peter Carey’s novel, directed by Neil Armfield and starring Peter Coleman-Wright.
? Six new productions: Tosca, La sonnambula, The Girl of the Golden West, The Marriage of Figaro, Bliss and the Sydney premiere of A Little Night Music.
? Another chance to see: Manon, La traviata, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Fledermaus, The Pirates of Penzance, Rigoletto and Der Rosenkavalier.
? Internationally-acclaimed Australian artists including: Cheryl Barker, Richard Bonynge, Alexander Briger, Peter Coleman-Wright, Julian Gavin, David Hobson, Yvonne Kenny, Paul Kildea, Emma Matthews, Jonathan Summers, Sigrid Thornton, Anthony Warlow and John Wegner.
? Welcoming international artists including: Philippe Auguin, Clive Bayley, Elvira Fatykhova, Johannes Fritzsch, Andrea Licata, Jorge Lopez-Yanez, Shao-Chia Lü, Dennis O’Neill, Alan Opie, Giovanni Reggioli, Patrick Summers and Teddy Tahu Rhodes.
? Directors, conductors and choreographers making their company debut including Christopher Alden, Benedict Andrews, Kate Champion, Frédéric Chaslin, Elgar Howarth, Nigel Jamieson, Marko Letonja, Andrew Litton, Gavin Robins and Arvo Volmer.
? Amazingly talented designers including Zoe Atkinson, Alice Babidge, Robert Bryan, Trudy Dalgleish, Charles Edwards, Peter J Hall, Roger Kirk, Phil Lethlean, Nigel Levings, Bill Marron, Catherine Martin, Jon Morrell, Ralph Myers, John O’Donnell, Richard Roberts, Nick Schlieper, Matt Scott, Michael Scott-Mitchell, Angus Strathie, Brian Thomson and Michael Yeargan.
? Plus gifted artists Richard Alexander, Richard Anderson, Jud Arthur, Stephen Bennett, Joshua Bloom, Kanen Breen, Andrew Brunsdon, Carlo Barricelli, Elizabeth Campbell, José Carbó , Catherine Carby, Henry Choo, Conal Coad, Tobias Cole, Tyler Coppin, Jacqueline Dark, Gennadi Dubinsky, Aldo Di Toro, Rachelle Durkin, James Egglestone, Amelia Farrugia, Taryn Fiebig, Warwick Fyfe, Luke Gabbedy, Lorina Gore, Antoinette Halloran, Lisa Harper-Brown, Natalie Jones, Hye Seoung Kwon, Teresa La Rocca, Rosario La Spina, Michael Lewis, Shane Lowrencev, Graeme Macfarlane, Dominica Matthews, Andrew Moran, Milijana Nikolic, Paul O’Neill, David Parkin, Sian Pendry, Merlyn Quaife, Barry Ryan, Stephen Smith, Tiffany Speight, Amy Wilkinson and Nicole Youl.
? Regional tour of Oz Opera’s new production of La traviata to 28 venues in TAS, VIC, NSW and ACT, directed by Rachel McDonald with a chamber orchestra and ten singers.
? And introducing three new young artists, Jane Parkin, Samuel Dundas and Andrew Jones who join current Moffatt Oxenbould Young Artist Program member David Corcoran.

Further information


Comments are closed.