Sydney Theatre Awards for 2009, Club Swans, Kings Cross

January 19th, 2010



18 January 2010   Story: MiSociety – Photos: MiSociety

Theatre critics have their say
The Sydney Theatre Awards are the annual result of Sydney’s  theatre critics from the printed media having their say with the awards for 2009 mustering together the elite of Sydney’s theatre scene at the swish Club Swans in Kings Cross.

The presentations and show were tight, well orchestrated and entertaining with the Awards PR Ian Phipps quipping to us “a short show is a good show” – ain’t that a fact.  

Bags of humour, wit, humility and rapturous audience applause surrounded the prize winners underlining that they were all popular choices.  The announcement of the ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ winner saw the entire congregation elevate to their feet dwarfing an astonished Wendy Blacklock as she made her way to the podium.

The ‘show’ side of the proceedings kicked off with a ‘grab ‘em’ number from a ‘wow’ high octane group of young musical performers.  The program was interspersed with Nick Christo’s rendition from his tribute show ‘The Fabulous Frances Faye’ which left us wanting more (much more from this very talented performer) and singer songwriter James Smith who gave us a hint of the huge future on the horizon for this young man.  A reading from ‘The Diaries of Robert (Bob) Ellis’ on the current political scene was nothing short of brilliant.

Sydney Theatre Company’s Artistic Director Andrew Upton bought along his wife the other STC Artistic Director Cate Blanchett who picked up the award for ‘Best Actress in a Lead Role’ for ‘War of the Roses’.

Stars mingled under the celestial variety in the club’s outdoor terrace for some time post the ceremony.   Cate Blanchett with hubby Andrew stayed on along with, Ewen Leslie who claimed ‘Best Actor in a Leading Role, ‘Best Newcomer’ winner, Josh McConville, Tim Richards who won for ‘Best Actor, Supporting Role, in company with other award winners and their ‘critics’.  Full list of winners

Click on an image for the bigger picture – all images are ©copyright 2010 & may not be reproduced without permission

Comments are closed.