What’s on in Sydney for classical music – Australia Ensemble

December 20th, 2011



Australia Ensemble at UNSW – concert no 1 of the 2012 series

  • Saturday 17 March 2012 – 8pm
  • WIN TICKETS – email MiSociety with ENSEMBLE in subject line

Sir John Clancy Auditorium UNSW

  • Wolfgang MOZART (1756-1791): Piano Concerto in F K413 with strings a quattro (1783)
  • Elena KATS-CHERNIN (b 1957): Interludes and Rags: 2MBS-FM Commission (2012) for flute, clarinet, oboe/cor anglais, piano, two violins, viola and cello
  • Claude DEBUSSY (1862-1918): Prélude à ‘L’après-midi d’un faune’ (1894) for flute, oboe, clarinet, antique cymbal, piano, harmonium and string quartet (arr attrib Hanns Eisler) – 150th anniversary of the composer’s birth
  • Pyotr Il’yich TCHAIKOVSKY (1840-1893): String Quartet No 1 in D Opus 11 (1871)

Debussy’s Prélude à‘ L’après-midi d’un faune’ is regarded by many musicians as one of the starting points of twentieth century music, so fresh and distinctive are its harmonic language and design ; yet, far from being disruptive or aggressive, its theme of an alluring dream reveals itself in infinitely unwinding chains of melody. An essential part of 2012’s celebrations of the 150th anniversary of Debussy’s birth, it has become accessible to chamber forces in a sympathetic arrangement attributed to Hanns Eisler. Tunefulness, including at least one instantly memorable and recognisable melody, is also among the essential characteristics of Tchaikovsky’s accomplished first string quartet. Elena Kats-Chernin’s new Interludes and Rags, commissioned by Sydney’s FM radio station of music-loving volunteers for the Australia Ensemble@UNSW to perform, can be relied on for deftly entertaining, sometimes slyly humorous and occasionally uproarious qualities. Mozart’s F major piano concerto K413 is one of the works that began the composer’s four or five years of prosperity when his Viennese audiences flocked to hear his production of an unparalleled stream of masterly piano concertos. It is performed here in the alternative version for piano solo and single strings specifically approved by Mozart.

Whole programme of the Australia Ensemble 2012 concert series

Comments are closed.