What’s on in Sydney for classical music – Australia Ensemble

December 20th, 2011



Australia Ensemble at UNSW – concert no 6 of the 2012 series

  • Saturday 20 October 2012 – 8pm
  • WIN TICKETS – email MiSociety with ENSEMBLE in subject line

Sir John Clancy Auditorium UNSW

  • Gabriel FAURÉ (1845-1924): Piano Quartet No 1 in C minor, Opus 15 (1879, rev. 1883)
  • Claude DEBUSSY (1862-1918): Six Épigraphes antiques arr Ian Munro for flute, clarinet and piano (1914) – 150th anniversary of the composer’s birth
  • Maria GRENFELL (b 1969): New work – first performance
  • Jean FRANÇAIX (1912-1997): Octet (A Huit) for clarinet, horn, bassoon, two violins, viola, cello and double bass (1972) – 100th anniversary of the composer’s birth

French musical clarity in workmanship and shapeliness of utterance characterises the majority of works in the year’s final program. Jean Françaix, a composer of outstanding skill and keen wit, pays a tribute to Schubert by scoring his octet (A Huit in French) for the same instrumentation as Schubert’s work of the same title and dedicating the score to the memory of the great Austrian. Debussy’s Six Épigraphes antiques, originally written for pianistic sonorities alone and arranged for flute, clarinet and piano by Ian Munro, are from the late period of the composer’s life in which he seems to discover a new and very personal classicism. The Australian composer Maria Grenfell, whose Poems of a Bright Moon made an excellent impression with its poetic sureness of touch when it was commissioned by the Australia Ensemble@UNSW and first performed in 2003, has a new score under commission from one of our subscribers, Sean Buck, for this concert. Gallic flair becomes scintillating in the scherzo movement of Gabriel Fauré’s C minor piano quartet and draws on the warmly expressive instincts of a Mediterranean southerner in its other three lyrical and strongly purposeful movements.

Whole programme of the Australia Ensemble 2012 concert series

Comments are closed.